Cold Antarctica – Part 2

Last night was one of the coldest I have experienced. Katabatic winds of upto 30 mph blew for most of the night with windchill upto -30 Celsius. Of course, the winds did not penetrate the tent but the cold did. The sound of the wind was enough to keep me up most of the night. Since I had caught a cold in McMurdo, I haven’t been ableto eat much. That meant that my body did not produce enough heat to fight the cold. Hence, I was shivering badly half the night. Finally consuming a bar of chocolate, and covering every part of my head except the nose put an end to the shivering and I was able to sleep a bit. Thanks to happy camper school for teaching so many little things needed for survival!

Bill suggested I take the day off, which I did. Having slept in the warm jamesway for 5 hours, I feel much better now. The team has been extremely caring, helpful and supportive, and I hope to be well enough soon to get back to work.

The rest of the team went to the Bot-house and made good progress. They have started assembling the various components that were flown separately into the bot. Maciej and Jim have gotten the tecqhnique of melting the hole down and it is coming on well. The team were chilled to the bone and almost frozen when they got back at the end of the way after their long drive in the ATV in the cold.  There is not enough propane at the Bot-house, hence they had only one heater running and they were rather cold all day.  Bart has been a little sick too and he looks exhausted.

 

 

10 Responses to Cold Antarctica – Part 2

  1. Carla says:

    Sorry to hear you aren’t feeling well. Richie told me today that you had caught a cold. Stay warm and take as much rest as you need! I guess you are able to boil water and drink warm drinks too right?

    Also I thought you’d get a kick out of knowing that if you type “Shilpa’s Blog” into Google, this comes up as the second search result right after Shilpa Shetty’s blog!

  2. Pamela says:

    Hope you’re back to feeling better soon! The photos are fantastic and I’m really enjoying the blogs.
    Hello to everyone from Texas for me.

  3. Aniket says:

    Hope you get well soon. Going to Antarctica a bit early seems to have made a big difference in the weather.

  4. sgulati says:

    It certainly is a lot colder this time. I am getting better – the worst seems to be over though it will take many days to be 100%.

  5. judie hogan says:

    Very much appreciate your blog and those of Kris and Emma. How is Bart doing now? Looks like he needs to keep his hood up while working! Any chance of a close up picture for his son Isaiah (Ike)? Thanks, Judie

    • sgulati says:

      Judie,

      Bart looked fine and his usual chatty self today morning. So don’t worry :). I believe Kristof took a really nice photo of Bart with the valley in the background, but I will try to get some more.

  6. Beth Steger (Emma's Mom) says:

    I love reading all the blogs. I cannot believe the
    amount of physical work involved but think of how fun to have a robot that can roam underwater.

    When time permits I would love to hear about the sketch! Who is everyone portrayed as and why?

    The finger coil on fire opened my eyes a litte. Yikes!

    Be Safe, Hi to Emma. Beth

    • sgulati says:

      The physical work is amazing – the sheer logistic of sustaining life, let alone doing productive scientific work and amazing. I did say hi to Emma from you.

    • sgulati says:

      The physical work is amazing – the sheer logistics of sustaining life, let alone doing productive scientific work and amazing. I did say hi to Emma from you.

Leave a Reply

