A wonderful meeting

Nov 23

Sunday is off-day here. We took it a little easy, and worked a few hours packing up and weighing stuff. It will be taken to the helo-pad either tomorrow or Tuesday.

The highlight of the day for me was that Robin introduced me to wildlife filmmakers Doug Allan and Neil Lucas during brunch. They are here to film weddell seals and invertebrates for the BBC series “Life” (name might get changed) which will likely be released next year. We chatted for about 15 minutes and I was impressed by the humility and accessibility of these guys despite the incredible work they have done. I mentioned my favorite scene in the “Planet Earth” series – that of a mother polar bear with two cubs, and it turned out that Doug himself had shot the scene! Needless to say, I am absolutely thrilled.

I ran into them a couple more times, but did not have my camera with me. I will try to take pictures if I run into them again. It is a good idea to always carry a camera here.

Peter and Bill presented the ENDURANCE project as part of the Science Lecture series tonight. There was a fair crowd and people were very interested. The lecture lasted about an hour and there were many questions from people. It allowed me to step back for a moment and think of the scientific implications of our project.

Leave a Reply

